Saxophone | Friday, September 14, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Soulful, passionate, stirring…these are the words most often used to describe Kirk’s music. Forged from his Memphis, (TN) gospel roots and his 1980‘s initiation into the thriving Houston, TX nightclub scene, Kirk’s big, rich tenor sound is unmistakably his. The 80’s were highlighted by Kirk’s stepping out of his blossoming sideman role and forming his own band. It was also in Houston where jazz pianist Bob James “discovered” him and brought him on tour, which led to five successful albums, including “Cache”, Kirk’s first #1 album. As well, Kirk and Bob received a Grammy nomination for their collaboration album “Joined at the Hip”. After moving to Los Angeles, Kirk became an in demand session player for top artists like, Barbara Streisand, Al Jarreau, Luther Vandross, Larry Carlton, Quincy Jones and most notably, Whitney Houston, amongst many others. It’s his sax heard on the mega-hit, “I Will Always Love You.” Kirk soon followed that career high point with his phenomenal hit album released “For You”, perhaps the most successful of over 25 solo recordings to date; others include his eclectic “Gospel According to Jazz” series (Chapters 1, 2 and 3).

An ordained minister, Kirk has earned his Masters of Art in Religion. It’s in this spirit that he serves his community, frequently performing at nursing homes, schools and missions. In addition to music and ministry, Kirk has a passion to educate young, aspiring musicians and as such he currently serves as President/CEO of the STAX Music Academy and the STAX Museum of American Soul Music in his hometown of Memphis, TN.

Kirk is the recipient of numerous awards and acknowledgements for his musical excellence including three Dove Award nominations, an NAACP Image Award nomination and has won two Stellar Awards-Gospel music’s highest honor. An eleven time Grammy nominee, Kirk won his first Grammy award for Best Gospel Song (“It’s What I Do”) alongside life-long friend and gifted writer, Jerry Peters. His latest release is perhaps his most ambitious to date. On “Romance Language” Kirk pays homage to the much revered 1963 ballads album, John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman. In a career spanning decades, Kirk has a sound that is uniquely his; it is a sound that leaves an indelible imprint on the listener.

Listen to Kirk Whalum on

back to Artists & Music

KIRK WHALUM

Saxophon | Freitag, 14. September 2012 um 21:00 Uhr

Gefühlvoll, leidenschaftlich, rührend – das sind die Worte, die die Musik von Kirk Whalum am besten beschreiben. Geprägt von seinen Gospelwurzeln in Memphis und seinen Anfängen in der pulsierenden Houstoner Nachtclubszene der 80er-Jahre, ist der unverkennbare Tenor-Sound zu seinem Markenzeichen geworden. Im Laufe der 80er trat Kirk aus seiner Rolle als Sideman heraus und gründete seine eigene Band. In Houston entdeckte ihn Jazz-Pianist Bob James und ermöglichte ihm eine Tournee – eine Zeit, in der Whalum fünf erfolgreiche Alben veröffentlichte, darunter „Cache”, sein erstes Nr.1-Album. Zudem wurden Kirk und Bob für ihr gemeinsames Album „Joined at the Hip“ für den Grammy nominiert. Nach seinem Umzug nach Los Angeles wurde Kirk ein gefragter Session-Musiker und begleitete Top-Künstler wie Barbara Streisand, Al Jarreau, Luther Vandross, Larry Carlton, Quincy Jones und Whitney Houston. In Houstons Mega-Hit „I Will Always Love You“ spielte er Saxophon. Bald darauf folgte sein phänomenales Hit-Album „For You”, das vielleicht erfolgreichste von bis dato über 25 Solo-Aufnahmen.

Als ordinierter Amtsträger hat Kirk seinen Master of Art in Religion absolviert und dient seiner Gemeinde, mit Auftritten in Pflegeheimen, Schulen und Missionen. Obendrein bildet er mit viel Hingabe junge, aufstrebende Musiker aus und ist zurzeit als Präsident der Stax Music Academy und des STAX Museum of American Soul Music in seiner Heimatstadt Memphis aktiv.

Für sein musikalisches Können ist Kirk mit zahlreichen Auszeichnungen und Anerkennungen geehrt worden, darunter drei Dove Award-Nominierungen, einen NAACP Image Award sowie zwei Stellar-Awards – die höchste Auszeichnung der Gospel-Musik. Nachdem er bereits elfmal für den Grammy nominiert war, hat Kirk 2011 zusammen mit seinem langjährigen Freund, dem Songwriter Jerry Peters, seinen ersten Grammy für den besten Gospel Song (It’s What I do“) gewonnen. Seine jüngste Veröffentlichung ist vielleicht seine bislang ehrgeizigste: „Romance Language” ist eine Hommage an das von vielen verehrte Balladen-Album von John Coltrane und Johnny Hartman aus dem Jahre 1963. In einer Karriere, die sich nunmehr über Jahrzehnte erstreckt, hat Kirk einen Sound etabliert, der unverkennbar seiner ist; ein Sound, den die Zuhörer niemals vergessen…

www.kirkwhalum.com/

Hörproben von Kirk Whalum auf YouTube.de:

zurück zu Künstler & Musik