The Kurhaus Theater in Augsburg-Göggingen was erected in 1886. Built in the period of industrial expansion in Germany (late 1800s) by the Augsburg architect Jean Keller, it was destroyed by fire in 1972. After having been faithfully restored, it was reopened in 1996.
This splendid theater was built to supplement the orthopaedic Hessing Sanatorium. It is considered as a unique European testimonial of 19-century architecture. Many similar buildings – from the Munich Glass Palace to the constructions specially built for the World Exhibitions of that time – have disappeared.
The Kurhaus Theater once had also “disappeared”. It was rediscovered in 1972 when a former cinema that at the time was used by a construction company as an off-the-road storage facility, went up in flames for reasons still unknown. The fire destroyed wooden parts and coverings that were added over time. A double-storey hall came to the surface displaying cast-iron pillars and corridors together with ornamental balustrades, burnt-out iron muntin windows and burst stained-glass windows. The fire exposed the auditorium of the Kurhaus Theater (approx. 370 movable seats) with its historic cast-iron construction. Following an extensive renovation period, the Park Theater in Göggingen celebrated its reopening in 1996.
110 years earlier, in 1886, the Park Theater was designed as a theatre and community centre with an integrated palm house. Today, it is once again used as such hosting 200 cultural events per year. In addition, the various-sized premises are rented to both private individuals and companies.
Parktheater im Kurhaus Göggingen